If you unarchive a post on Instagram does it repost (2022)

If you unarchive a post on Instagram does it repost?

If you want to know what happens if you unarchive an Instagram post, you have landed on the right page. Here, we have provided all the information regarding this topic, and what happens when you archive a post on Instagram.

So, let’s get started.

The option to archive and unarchive posts on Instagram was introduced for the first time in 2017, and since then, it has become one of the tools that users value the most and make use of the most frequently on the site.

image source: thbing.com
image source: thbing.com

You can archive posts so that they are no longer visible in your feed; however, you will not lose any of the engagement metrics associated with those posts, including the number of likes, comments, and shares. You have the ability to restore any of your old posts whenever you like. Instagram stories can also be archived in the same way as regular posts.

When users wanted content that they had submitted to be hidden from view before the archive feature was available, the only alternative they had was to delete the content. This, of course, meant that the content would be lost forever, along with the engagement metrics that were linked with it.

Let’s take a more in-depth look at the benefits that come with having these features.


What happens when you archive a post on Instagram

Image Source: techcrunch.com
Image Source: techcrunch.com

Short answer: When you archive a post, you maintain all the likes and comments it has received while hiding it from followers and other Instagram users.

You can come across posts on your profile that is completely useless from time to time. Either you uploaded them because of a current occurrence that everyone is talking about, or you may come to the conclusion that they are no longer pertinent.

In addition, certain posts have a tendency to make your Instagram feed look cluttered. Under these conditions, erasing them seems like a sensible course of action, doesn’t it?

The majority of users also archive outdated and unimportant stuff that does not conform to the concept of their account. In addition, brands and influencers may archive posts with the goal of improving their appearance. The engagement statistics for your posts will be preserved if you choose to archive them rather than delete them.

If you delete your post on Instagram, you will no longer have access to any of the engagement statistics associated with it. Once a photo or video is deleted from Instagram, neither you nor any of your followers will be able to view it again. You will also not be able to restore it to your Instagram profile after it has been deleted.

Consequently, archiving your posts is a more effective method for getting rid of them for the time being than any of the other options. When you archive a post on Instagram, you are essentially concealing it from your profile and from the followers of your account. Your posts, on the other hand, will keep all of their previous engagement numbers.


What happens if you unarchive an Instagram post?

Short answer: When you unarchive a post, its engagement data is restored and it shows in the same location on your profile as it did before you archived it. 

There can be a number of factors that could lead you to desire to unarchive something that you had posted in the past. Instagram is aware of this, which is why it provides users with the option to use this tool.

When you unarchive a post, a number of things will occur in response to this action. To begin, your post is still displayed on your profile in the exact same location as it was before you decided to archive it.

This indicates that if the post you archived was published on April 3rd, then the post you unarchived would likewise display on your timeline on August 23rd at the same date and location as the archived post.

In addition to this, the engagement statistics associated with your post will be brought back. It will be possible to see the same number of likes, comments, saves, and shares that were present when you archived the post.

Bear in mind, however, that your post will not display in the feed of your followers, nor will they be notified when you unarchive a post that you have already posted.

Your followers can check the photos that have been returned by going to your account and looking at them there. If they have been paying attention to the quantity and sequencing of your posts, then they will be the only ones who notice the unarchived post.


If you unarchive a post on Instagram, does it repost

Short answer: When you unarchive them, they won’t show up again in the feed. They will show up in the same places on your profile where they were first posted.

When you archive a post, it keeps the same date that it was first published. Because of this, when you unarchive a post, it will return to the same location on your profile page that it previously occupied.

If you choose to unarchive a post on Instagram, it will go back to where it was located on your profile matrix before you archived it. It will not jump to the top of the grid as a new post would.

Your followers will not see unarchived posts in their Feeds in the same way that they see new ones. Therefore, unarchiving your posts will not result in an increase in the amount of activity on your account. When you in-archive a post, the comments, and likes on that post are brought back to the state they were in when the post was originally archived.


When you unarchive a post on Instagram does it show up on your timeline?

Short answer: They will show up on your profile in the same places they were originally posted.

When you unarchive a post, it will be returned to the location on your timeline where it appeared before it was archived. For instance, if you archived a post from the 23rd of August 2022 and then unarchived it, it will be returned to the exact same point in time on your timeline as when it was originally posted.


FAQs

Q1- Do archived Instagram posts get deleted?

No. Instagram will never delete posts that have been saved. Your old posts are still yours and are linked to your account. So even if you leave a post archived for a long time, it will still be there when you come back to it.


Q2- Can people still see an archived post?

When an Instagram user archives a post, it is immediately removed from their profile and cannot be viewed by other users. Through the user’s profile settings, the person is able to continue viewing their own archived posts, but followers are unable to view the archived posts.


Final Words

When you delete a post on Instagram, you will also permanently lose all of the likes, comments, and shares associated with that post. Your account’s overall stats will also be updated to reflect the removal of any and all engagement metrics that were created by the post in question.

The post in question should be archived rather than deleted. You will keep track of all the engagement data linked with the post, and you will always have the option to bring the archived post back into view.

Keeping your material current, relevant, and fascinating may be accomplished by archiving posts, which is also an excellent method to update the aesthetics of your timeline.


Further Reading:

[Fixed] Instagram not showing who viewed my story (2022)

Instagram Couldn’t Refresh Feed On One Account [9 Fixes]

7 Ways to Fix Instagram Videos Not Playing/ loading

How to Fix can’t connect Instagram to Facebook (2022)

[5 Ways] Fix instagram feed not refreshing but stories are