WhatsApp is one of the world’s most popular instant messaging apps, with over 2 billion active users.
One of the features that make WhatsApp so popular is its Status feature, which allows users to share photos, videos, and text updates with their contacts.
However, what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp? Can you still see their status updates?
If I Block Someone on WhatsApp Can I See Their Status?
Short answer: No, if you block someone on WhatsApp, you won’t be able to view their status on WhatsApp.
To test this, I blocked my friend on WhatsApp and asked him to apply a status. Despite my friend updating his status, I could not view it.
This confirms that blocking someone on WhatsApp not only prevents them from seeing your status updates but also prevents you from seeing theirs.
When you block someone on WhatsApp, the other person won’t be able to see your profile picture, last seen time, or status updates and won’t be able to call or message you.
If you mute someone’s WhatsApp status will they know?
No, if you mute someone’s status, they won’t be notified that you have muted their status on WhatsApp.
When you mute someone’s WhatsApp status, their status will not appear at the top of your Status tab. Instead, their status will be hidden under the ‘Muted updates‘ section in the status section of WhatsApp itself.
However, the contact certainly won’t be notified when you mute their status. Well, if you are not viewing someone’s status, they will get to know that you might have muted them based on their intuition.
If I Block Someone on WhatsApp Can I See Their Profile picture?
Short answer: Yes, you will be able to view the profile picture of the person whom you have blocked. Even when the person updates their profile, you can view their updated profile while they are still blocked.
I also tested this by blocking my friend on WhatsApp and asking him to update his profile picture. The result was that I was able to view the updated profile while he was blocked from my side. So, this confirms that you will be able to view the profile picture of the person who you have blocked.
If I Block Someone On WhatsApp, Can I See Their Last Seen
Short answer: Once you have blocked someone on WhatsApp, you can no longer view their Last Seen.
To read more about this, read our dedicated posts:
- If I block someone on WhatsApp, can I see their last seen?
- If someone blocked me on WhatsApp, can I still see their last seen?
What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp
When you block someone on WhatsApp, the person won’t be able to see any update you make on WhatsApp, whether it be your status, profile picture, last seen etc. Moreover, the person won’t be able to message or call you.
On your end, when you block someone on WhatsApp, as per our testing, you can only view their profile picture. Things like their status and last seen won’t be visible to you.
- How To Know If Someone Blocked You On WhatsApp Status
- Can You Call Someone On WhatsApp If They Blocked You
So, that’s all for now. I hope after reading this post, you were able to know whether you can view the status of the person you have blocked or not and what happens when you block someone.
- WhatsApp Export Chat Will The Other Person Know (No)
- If You Delete A Photo From WhatsApp Is It Also Deleted From Gallery
- Someone Blocked Me On WhatsApp, But I Can Still See Their “Online” Status. How Is That Possible?
Ankit is an engineer by profession and blogger by passion. He is passionate to do all the stuff such as desiging the website, doing the SEO, researching for the content, writing tech blog posts and more.