Instagram is well-known for its user-friendly interface and amazing features. Every now and then, Instagram surprises us with astounding features.
Vanish mode of Instagram is one of the latest updates and has become the talk of the town ever since it was released.
Now, what’s so special about this feature?
Vanish mode deletes all the seen messages as soon as you close the chat. It’s interesting, isn’t it?
Users are super excited to try this feature but at the same time they have different questions in their minds:
Does Instagram’s vanish mode delete messages on both sides?
Can vanish mode’s messages be recovered?
Does the other person know when you turn on vanish mode on Instagram? If you’re curious too, then this article’s for you.
In today’s article, we will explore Instagram’s Vanish mode and answer all your queries regarding the same.
Sit back and get ready to learn about the Vanish mode today.
Does Instagram vanish mode delete messages on both sides?
Short Answer: Vanish mode deletes the seen messages from both sides as soon as you close the chat. Not to mention, these messages cannot be recovered.
This feature gained tremendous popularity because of its ability to delete messages on both sides provided that the messages are seen.
Here are some of its superpowers.
- No copying, saving, or forwarding of disappearing messages
- Only connected accounts can send messages in vanish mode
- Only usable in one-on-one chats with other Instagram accounts
- Some professional accounts cannot receive messages in vanish mode
- Use only with trusted people to avoid risks such as screenshotting or photographing disappearing messages
Can vanish mode messages be recovered?
What’s the most fun part of Instagram? Well, it’s chatting with your friends and followers.
Imagine you just had an amazing chat with someone and you want to keep it as a memory but when you come to the chat after a few minutes chat disappears!
It’s heart reckoning, we know! Did you delete the chat? No!
Then where did it go? It got vanished because you had the Vanish mode on.
When you have the vanish mode on, your seen message will disappear the second you close the chat.
Unfortunately, you can’t recover messages once they’re removed by the Vanish mode.
So, if you really want to preserve your future chats, make sure you disable the Vanish mode.
Method#1: Disable the Vanish Mode
Here’s how you disable the Vanish mode:
- Step 1: Launch Your Instagram App
- Step 2: Tap on the messenger icon in the top right corner of the screen
- Step 3: Now, open the chat
- Step 4: Next, click on the Profile Picture of the person
- Step 5: Disable the Vanish mode
NOTE: Make sure it’s pushed to the left side and not purple
Your messages disappeared because you had your vanish mode enabled.
Now, you can enjoy chatting with your friends without having to worry about losing your precious messages.
You can recover your Instagram chats provided that they did not get deleted due to Vanish mode.
If your Vanish mode is disabled, and you deleted the chats by mistake, follow the method mentioned below to recover them.
Method#2: Request Data Download
Have you ever accidentally deleted an important chat on Instagram and wished you could get it back?
Well, you’re in luck!
There’s a way to recover deleted chats on Instagram. You can do so by requesting a data download from Instagram.
Note: This method won’t recover Vanish mode messages.
Here’s how you can do it:
- Step 1: Launch your Instagram App
- Step 2: Tap on your Profile Picture in the bottom right corner of the screen
- Step 3: Next, click on the three bars in the top right corner of the screen
- Step 4: Select Your activity from the pop-up window
- Step 5: Scroll till the very end and tap on Download your information
- Step 6: Enter your email address and hit Request Download
- Step 7: Next, enter your Instagram password
- Step 8: Wait for a few days, and then check your Email
You should be able to see your data and you can go ahead and download the file.
Another important thing worth noting is that your data will be in zip format so make sure you use any zip extractor to convert the file to HTML format.
Here’s how easily you can recover your deleted chats.
NOTE: Instagram can take up to 30 days to collect your data and send it to you.
Does the other person know when you turn on vanish mode on Instagram?
One important doubt that most people have is, “Does the other person know when I turn on the Vanish mode?”
Well, there’s a simple answer to that question.
Instagram doesn’t particularly spam the other person with notifications that you have turned on the Vanish mode.
They’ll only come to know when you send them a message or when they’re chatting with you as they’ll be able to see the message saying, “Vanish mode has been turned on” at the very bottom of the chat.
Yep, they’ll only know if they’re chatting with you.
NOTE: Another important thing to keep in mind is that when you take a screenshot in vanish mode, Instagram notifies the other person that you took a screenshot.
- Why Can’t I Reply To My Friend’s Instagram Story?
- Someone Replied To My Instagram Story But It Doesn’t Show (Reasons)
- What Does Instagram Active Today Without A Green Dot Mean
To sum up, Instagram’s Vanish mode is a great feature that deletes the chat from both sides once messages are seen.
However, it’s important to note that messages deleted by Vanish mode cannot be recovered.
By carefully following the steps mentioned in the article, you can ensure to keep your chats intact.
Apart from this, Vanish mode is a useful feature for privacy freaks who want to preserve their privacy at all costs.
An experienced technical writer who specializes in simplifying technical jargon. Being a lifelong learner, she stays up-to-date with the latest trends and tools in the world of technology. When she’s not writing technical stuff, you can find her reading self-help books.