What happens when you Remove suggested Friend on Facebook

‘People you may know’ is a term that appears to be completely innocent on Facebook, despite the fact that it is quite formal – “Oh, come to this party! There are going to be a lot of people who you might recognize there!’

However, in the past few years, this phrase has come to be synonymous with Facebook’s upsettingly accurate Suggested Friends carousel, which features people who, yes, you do know; however! Is it possible that Mark Zuckerberg is a wizard?

Image Source: shutterstock.com
Image Source: shutterstock.com

 

Or, to get more to the point, what factors go into determining who Facebook suggests as friends? Is it based on people viewing your profile? Exactly what does this phrase mean?

According to the official stance that Facebook takes on the matter, which can be seen on their support page, they choose who will be in your list of Suggested Friends based on mutual friends, work and education information, and networks you’re part of.

So, what happens when you remove someone from your suggested friend on Facebook?


What happens when you remove someone from your suggested friend on Facebook?

Short answer: If you remove someone from your ‘suggested friends’ list on Facebook, that person will no longer appear in that section for a couple of days, but they’ll be back eventually.

Facebook is a social networking service that centers on the content that you and your friends share on the platform, in addition to the pages and people that you choose to follow.

In addition to suggesting pages you should follow and check out on a regular basis, the company will on occasion send you notifications recommending people it thinks you may already know through your network of friends.

The company categorizes these suggestions under the ‘People You May Know’ section, which lists users who could be suggested as part of your contact list that you uploaded to Facebook, or via the company’s algorithms that can predict who you might know based on the information in your profile and the people who are already your friends on Facebook.

This section is referred to by the company as the ‘People You May Know’ section. However, if you delete someone from the ‘People you may know’ section of your profile, that individual will be back eventually.


When you get a friend suggestion on Facebook does the other person get it too?

Short answer: Maybe, If you get a friend’s suggestion on Facebook, the other person may get it too, because you and the other person may have mutual friends, and they have uploaded their contacts, which contain your cell phone number, so you may appear as each other’s suggested friends.

While attempting to answer this issue, there are a number of different probabilities that need to be considered…

Seeing the individual in suggestions means that either you and the person have mutual friends or that Facebook has found his or her phone number in your contacts and is randomly displaying him or her as a suggestion.

Now, the same thing is going to happen with that person (the one who has been suggested by Facebook), but let’s imagine that the person has a greater number of contacts than you do.

Because of this, the person may not be able to see you as an easy suggestion because there is already a fairly good amount of audience present.

Now, the same thing is going to happen with that person (the one who has been suggested by Facebook).

But again, if we think that there are some shared friends between the two of you and a good number of friends in common, then Facebook will most likely suggest you to the other person.


How to turn off friend suggestions on the Facebook app

Since the very beginning of Facebook, users have been able to receive notifications whenever a friend suggestion is made.

Although you might run into a familiar face every once in a while, more often than not, it will be someone you would rather not associate with or perhaps someone you have never met before.

Many people who use Facebook find that this feature gives off an unsettling vibe, and as a result, they would rather completely turn it off or quit using it.

Even for someone who has a lot of friends, seeing messages that say ‘You have a new friend suggestion’ all the time might be extremely aggravating.

Method 1 – Turn Off the notification

If you want to deactivate the notifications for People You May Know, you can do so by adhering to the instructions listed below:

On Smartphone:

  • Step 1- To access the menu, click the three horizontal lines that look like a hamburger.
  • Step 2- Select Settings, then scroll down and pick Notification settings from the menu that appears.
  • Step 3- Choose People you may know from the drop-down menu under Notification settings.
  • Step 4- Remove the checkmark from the box labeled ‘Allow notifications on Facebook’. You also have the option of selectively disabling individual types of alerts, such as push notifications, SMS notifications, and email notifications, if that is what you choose to do.
  • Step 5- To confirm the setting change, tap the Turn off button.

On Desktop:

When you are logged into your desktop version of Facebook, click the cog symbol in the upper right-hand corner of the screen to access the Settings and Privacy menu.

  • Step 1- Next, choose Settings from this menu’s options. It will bring up a new page where you may configure things.
  • Step 2- On the Facebook Settings page, locate the menu on the left sidebar and then select the Notifications icon from that menu.
  • Step 3– Now search in the tab labeled Notification Settings for a setting named People you may know.

From that screen, you will have the ability to turn off all of the choices, or you can choose to deactivate notifications delivered by SMS, emails, or push notifications within the app. Because of these choices, the alerts for the Facebook feature called People you may know will either be disabled in part or fully.


SEE ALSO:

Who Are People You May Know On Facebook No Mutual Friends

If You Search Someone On Facebook Will You Be Suggested As A Friend

Friend With Someone On Facebook But Can’t Message Them (4 Reasons)


Final Words

There is no indication that Facebook’s friend recommendation notifications will be removed any time soon.

The good news is that it is rather simple to turn them off, and we have outlined the process necessary to do so above.

Not only will doing so prevent friend suggestion notifications from appearing, but it will also bring the total number of friend requests to a lower level.